The Ring

Of course, I had no ring, since Guy hadn’t planned to propose – so we went shopping together. I hasten to add that I lack the shopping gene, just like my mum and my grandma, and going shopping for something as expensive and important as an engagement ring was a massive deal – I was terrified! When we paid for the one we chose, I nearly swooned.

A pair of my friends had got engaged before we did, and I had seen his engagement ring. Strangely, despite this, and despite my views on equality, it never occurred to us to get Guy a ring – why? Probably because he was never fond of jewellery, but he wanted to get me a ring – as an honour to his promise – and I was to preoccupied reeling from the shock of the proposal…

Initially I hadn’t been sure about diamonds, but that was what we kept seeing, and eventually their sparkliness captured me. We looked at several single-stone rings, but they looked so very different on my finger, and seemed to protrude hugely! I’m a practical woman, and it was clear I would need a more practical ring.

We found my ring in H Samuels – end of the line and 5 sizes too big for me. It is 9ct white gold, and I loved the three diamonds in it: it was different, but not too different, and I’ve always preferred interesting settings and finer detail.

This is the closest commercial image I could find:

https://i1.wp.com/www.netvouchercodes.co.uk/productlghotimage/3F.H122712841-9ct-White-Gold-Diamond-Triple-Daisy-Weave-Trilogy-Ring-047208.jpg

And this is the real thing (this picture was taken after our marriage, obviously, as you have a sneak preview of our wedding rings – but there more is yet to tell):

https://i1.wp.com/i1226.photobucket.com/albums/ee408/RowenaFW/P5240462.jpg

It took a while for me to actually get my ring, because of it being resized, but as soon as I got it, I did what any geeky solid state chemist would do – went down to Single Crystal and mounted it on a diffractometer.

https://i1.wp.com/i1226.photobucket.com/albums/ee408/RowenaFW/2ring.jpg

https://i0.wp.com/i1226.photobucket.com/albums/ee408/RowenaFW/1ring.jpg

And so I actually have “evidence” that the diamond in my ring is really diamond!

About RowenaFW

I am a Fish. But you wouldn't know it just from looking at me. View all posts by RowenaFW

Leave a Reply

